door_engineering

I have to admit, I’m pretty proud of myself for this seemingly simple feat of engineering.  Mostly for getting up the motivation to do it.  My dorm room has incredible blackout shades for the window, but the space between the door and the wall is wide enough that bright light can still come through from the hallway during the night.  I knew I brought electrical tape for a reason.

Also, I walked over the “Passerelle des Arts” or “Bridge of Love Locks” in Paris near Notre Dame last weekend (see picture below), and it reminded me of an article I read recently in the LA times. Apparently attaching padlocks to bridges and such has become such a trend that they are starting to collapse under all the weight.  So that’s ironic.  I guess it means that the love/friendship symbolized by the lock is so strong that it can collapse a bridge?  Sounds pretty heavy to me.

Passerelle des Arts
Passerelle des Arts
