My job at Wizbots is now in half-swing, and I am loving the sleeping in and relatively free mornings. (I say “half” instead of “full” because I’m still an assistant; I won’t be a lab leader until the end of March when the next season starts.)  The kids got really into telling jokes today.  Some highlights:

  • Why can’t you play poker in the jungle?  Too many cheetahs!
  • What do you call the steepest roads?  Highways!
  • On what kind of boats do students study?  Scholarships!

On another note, I am really excited to share that I am also doing contracting work for a summer camp in LA that wants to include programming and robotics into their program–they want me to write the entire curriculum for an introductory class!  So that’s how I’m spending my mornings (besides doing grown-up things like going to the bank and doing laundry).

I’ve also developed into one of “those” people.  You know the ones, who arrive at work either all sweaty from the gym or freshly showered looking all smug about the workout they just did (yea you know who you are).  I never thought that I’d be an early-morning gym person because of the whole getting-up-early thing, but then again I also never thought that I’d enjoy cooking or doing laundry (it smells so good!) or actually look forward to listening to NPR.  I rationalize it by telling myself that even going to the gym, I actually get to sleep in an hour longer than I did when I was working at the Exploratorium.

On the bright side, I do get to watch the crossfitters making faces and grunting while I’m there for extra entertainment. On the downside, I don’t have the chance to brag about it because I just come home afterwards and work from there.  So here’s my chance: I lifted heavy things over and over this morning and now I feel like a champ!  Whew.  Glad I got that out of my system.

New topic: I definitely used to look at young adults repping their college/high school/elementary school t-shirts and wonder why they hadn’t gotten new t-shirts since then.  I mean, it’s been a while, right?  High school was basically forever ago now that I’m not in school anymore.  Well, I looked down at myself today at the gym and discovered that I was wearing a t-shirt from 2010 that still has a soy-sauce stain on it.  It says “Maui Wowie” on the front in strange font, and to make matters worse (better?) it boasts on the back, “fist pumpin’ like champs” with some fists in there for extra emphasis.  Oh man, I’m definitely one of “those” people.  Being a grown up is hard.

the infamous t-shirt
the infamous t-shirt
